Create a page or subdomain for a simple user's guide!

As a web developer, I spend a lot of time programming websites for people who don’t necessarily know what Markdown is, why they would use it, how they would use it. People who are just “ordinary people” who may not even know what HTML is.

With that said, perhaps a portion of the website should be dedicated to describing in the simplest terms possible how to perform certain actions using markdown - much like forums have for bbcode.

Obviously this should be open source on github or something similar taking pull requests - perhaps translated to multiple languages, too.

2 Likes

This is a great idea – if someone can provide HTML in a pull request, I am happy to bring it in!

https://github.com/coding-horror/coding-horror.github.io/

What should the URL for this help be? help.commonmark.org? Or a subfolder? Or the homepage itself?

For reference, here is the GitHub guide about using Markdown: https://guides.github.com/features/mastering-markdown/
It is linked from most (all?) places in GitHub allowing to use Markdown.

This looks similar to the idea suggested here

I built markdowntutorial.com to surprising popularity. I’m happy to create something similar here–or just have this site link out to that.

2 Likes

I don’t think a tutorial like that is what most users will need when we give them a field where they can write Markdown. It is more an help page than a tutorial (the tutorial can still be useful for people wanting to discover more from Markdown though)

I love your tutorial! If you want to move it (mirror it) under CommonMark.org that’d be great. Note that these are currently all static HTML and JS pages, though.

And @stof I was thinking we could have both.

@codinghorror the tutorial is at https://github.com/gjtorikian/markdowntutorial.com It is a Jekyll website, so static as well

1 Like

I think the tutorial would work great as a try.standardmarkdown.com, kind of like try.github.com.